Movie-“Drive”: Should this be Animated?

October 24, 2011

Saw Drive last night. There is really something to this film. I’m not going to say it was good or bad but only speak in terms of its effect. It’s really a lot different from what’s been offered say, in the last 20 years or more. It hails back to some Film Noir, but didn’t handle it’s violence as well. Granted those cheesy, I’m shot in the chest and slowly crumbling to the ground(fade in dramatic music) days are only for B/W.

Apparently it one best direction at Cannes which explains why we’re seeing it and also the onslaught of good reviews it’s receiving from proffessional critics. If you like movies it’s kind of a beacon(bacon) saying “make movies like this!” It’s more cerebral, non-commercial, and heads back in the direction of film for art’s sake. I don’t think there will be a sequel, at least it won’t be called Drive 2. It’ll be some other film with it’s head out of it’s ass.

It’s a cold dark thriller in the heart of the city type thing. Although there are no cyber plotlines that could easily be the case as with most noir. I noticed that they did not speak a whole lot which is somekind of art thing I guess. Thing is, it works better, or would if it was animated. What’s sad is, as a kid, I used to think anime was pretty shallow and straightfoward; but now I see artists and directors doing the same thing in live action as you would see in those cartoons and getting critical acclaim for it.

Notwithstanding either of the Iron Man or Wolverine camps. Not to be mean, but I just noticed them ripping dialogue from when I used to set up my toys in my youth and war them against each other.

Leave a Reply

